Published on Mar 28, 2024
Daily PIB Summaries
PIB Summaries 28 March 2024
PIB Summaries 28 March 2024


  1. Monuments of National Importance
  2. ICGS Samudra Paheredar

Monuments of National Importance


The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) recently decided to delist 18 protected monuments as they have ceased to be of “national importance”.


GS I: History

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. About Monuments of National Importance (MNI)
  2. About Archaeological Survey of India (ASI)

About Monuments of National Importance (MNI)

Legislative Framework:

  • The Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act (AMASR Act) of 1958, amended in 2010, serves as the legislative foundation for the identification, preservation, and conservation of ancient and historical monuments, as well as archaeological sites and remains of national significance in India.

Statistical Overview:

  • As of now, India boasts a total of 3,693 Monuments of National Importance (MNI).
  • Among the states, Uttar Pradesh leads with the highest count, housing 745 monuments/sites.
Declaration Process:
  • Notification and Public Engagement:
    • The Central Government initiates the declaration process by issuing a notification, indicating its intent to recognize an ancient monument as of national importance.
    • A two-month notice is given, inviting public feedback, views, or objections regarding the proposed declaration.
  • Final Declaration:
    • Post the consultation period, considering the received views and objections, the Central Government can officially declare the monument as an MNI by publishing a notification in the official gazette.
Responsibilities Post Declaration:
  • Role of Archaeological Survey of India (ASI):
    • Once a monument or site achieves the MNI status, its conservation, preservation, and maintenance fall under the purview of the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), operating under the Ministry of Culture.
  • Protection Zones:
    • A 100-meter radius around the monument is designated as a ‘prohibited area’, imposing a ban on construction activities within this zone.
    • An additional 200-meter radius (100+200 meters) is termed a ‘regulated area’, subject to specific construction regulations to safeguard the monument’s integrity.
Delisting Mechanism:
  • The ASI possesses the authority to delist monuments deemed to “have ceased to be of national importance” under Section 35 of the AMASR Act.
  • Once delisted, the responsibility of protecting these monuments shifts away from the ASI, rendering them exempt from ASI’s conservation and maintenance protocols.

About Archaeological Survey of India (ASI)

  • The Archaeological Survey of India is an Indian government agency attached to the Ministry of Culture.
  • ASI is responsible for archaeological research and the conservation and preservation of cultural monuments in the country.
  • Maintenance of ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains of national importance is the prime concern of the ASI.
  • Besides it regulate all archaeological activities in the country as per the provisions of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958.
  • It also regulates Antiquities and Art Treasure Act, 1972.
  • For the maintenance of ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains of national importance the entire country is divided into 24 Circles.
    • The organization has a large work force of trained archaeologists, conservators, epigraphist, architects and scientists for conducting archaeological research projects through its Circles, Museums, Excavation Branches, Prehistory Branch, Epigraphy Branches, Science Branch, Horticulture Branch, Building Survey Project, Temple Survey Projects and Underwater Archaeology Wing.
  • The most important of the society’s achievements was the decipherment of the Brahmi script by James Prinsep in 1837. This successful decipherment inaugurated the study of Indian palaeography.

ICGS Samudra Paheredar


External Affairs recently visited Indian Coast Guard ship Samudra Paheredar, which is in Manila Bay in the Philippines, as part of an overseas deployment to ASEAN countries.


Facts for Prelims

About ICGS Samudra Paheredar


  • ICGS Samudra Paheredar is a specialized Pollution Control Vessel (PCV) operated by the Indian Coast Guard.


  • As the second Pollution Control Vessel in India, it follows the first vessel, ICGS Samudra Prahari.
  • The vessel was indigenously constructed by ABG Shipyard, located in Surat.

Commissioning and Location:

  • The ship was commissioned into service in the year 2012.
  • It is stationed on the East Coast of India, specifically in Vishakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh.
Technical Specifications:
  • Dimensions and Propulsion:
    • The vessel spans a length of 94.10 meters and has a maximum displacement of 4,300 tons.
    • It is powered by twin 3,000-kilowatt diesel engines, further augmented by twin shaft generators, enabling a maximum speed of 21 knots.
  • Endurance and Operational Capabilities:
    • At its economical speed, the ship boasts an endurance of 6,500 nautical miles, allowing it to remain at sea for up to 20 days.
  • Pollution Response Equipment:
    • The primary function of the vessel is pollution response at sea.
    • It is equipped with cutting-edge pollution response and control equipment to tackle oil spills.
    • This includes containment gear like hi-sprint booms and river booms, recovery tools such as skimmers, and side sweeping arms.
  • Oil Recovery and Storage:
    • The vessel has a dedicated storage capacity of 502 kiloliters, facilitating unhindered oil-recovery operations.
  • Special Features:
    • The vessel boasts an integrated platform management system, a power management system, and a high-powered external firefighting system.
  • Helicopter Operations:
    • ICGS Samudra Paheredar is equipped to operate one twin-engine ALH/Chetak helicopter, enhancing its surveillance and response capabilities.